NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is coming.  It’s a writing opportunity that spans the month of November.  The goal it to write a story that is (at least) 50,000 words in that time.  It’s interesting to note that in the middle of the month (Nov. 15) is a write-a-thon event California that writers can go to if they raise at least $200 through Firstgiving by the 10th.

I encourage people who think they have a novel in them to try to write it this coming up month.

In my case, I don’t know if I have a novel in me.  Sure, I have a lot of story ideas, but I’m not sure if any of them are long enough to be a novel.  I had heard that the word count was 30,000 (or, on average, 1000 words a day) and thought I just might be able to make that, but probably not even that.  So, when I found out that the word count was 50,000 (about 1,667 words a day), I was even more discouraged.  I know that most of my story ideas would make short stories (or micro stories, if you count 55-a-day), but I don’t know that they would make a full length novel.  Another problem for me is that I can’t bring in a preexisting story (at least that’s how I read it), and I’ve written down scenes from most of my stories; so, I’m not sure if I can use any of them.

So, I may or may not participate this year, but I still encourage others to try.

One Response to NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

